Each year, in Michigan, thousands of people suffer serious injuries and hundreds lose their lives on roads in the state because a driver chooses to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated. Because of the dangers presented by drunk drivers, the state has adopted a tough stance against intoxicated and impaired drivers.
DUI in Michigan is a serious crime and a concerted effort between law enforcement personnel, court systems in the state, and officials at all levels of government is underway to do what is necessary to curb this behavior.
It is illegal to drive a car in Michigan if a motorist is visibly affected by alcohol consumption or possesses a blood alcohol content of .08 or more. This offense is enhanced if the blood alcohol content of the offending individual reaches .17. The presence of cocaine or any other Schedule I substance in the body also makes driving illegal.
A first offense of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated can result in as much as three months in jail and a fine of $500. Repeat offenders can face as much as five years in prison and a $5,000 fine the third time they are arrested. The punishments for DUI in Michigan are more severe if the death or serious injury of another person occurs as a result of the offense. A 20-year prison sentence is also possible if the DUI results in the death of a first responder.
Driving while under the influence of drugs and alcohol in Michigan can subject a motorist to serious legal consequences. A driver facing allegations of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated should consult with a legal professional on this matter if he or she hopes to minimize the damage done to their lives as a result of this action.