Drunk Driving OWI DUI
Home » Criminal Defense » Drunk Driving OWI DUI

Free Consultation · Credit Cards Accepted · Former Prosecutor

Under Michigan law, police and prosecutors are required to handle drunk driving as a serious offense. From the traffic stop to the field sobriety test and blood alcohol test, your case will be handled as if you committed a serious crime. Prosecutors are under heavy pressure to seek a conviction.

If you have been charged with OWI, you need to begin taking steps to protect yourself immediately. The lawyer you hire to protect your rights and defend your future can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case. Make your first call to the Law Offices of Harris & Literski in Brighton. We are a team of OWI defense lawyers with more than 100 combined years of criminal law experience. We have a reputation among local assistant prosecutors as knowledgeable, hardworking and diligent attorneys who help our clients secure the best possible outcomes in their cases.

We apply creative, intelligent strategies to challenge the prosecutor’s evidence and fight for options that will help you avoid a conviction.

Protecting Your Right To Drive

An OWI charge is actually two cases. When charged, the state automatically suspends your driver’s license. You have just 10 days to schedule a hearing at the local secretary of state’s office to present your case to restore your license, pending the outcome of your criminal case. We use these hearings as the first opportunity to challenge the evidence. By presenting strong, clear evidence supporting license restoration, we are often able to lay the groundwork for a successful dismissal or reduction of the criminal charges.

What You Are Facing

OWI can be charged if the blood or breath test determines that you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 at the scene of the traffic stop. If your BAC exceeds .17, you face a more serious misdemeanor charge with heavier fines and jail time and license suspension for up to 45 days. If you are facing a second (or subsequent) OWI charge, you face up to a $1,000 fine and other increased penalties.

It is important that you begin fighting to protect your rights as soon as possible after being charged. We provide a free initial consultation to evaluate your case and explain your options for moving forward.

Experienced Howell OWI/DUI Attorneys

From offices in Brighton, our lawyers provide legal advice and representation for clients throughout Livingston County, Washtenaw County and Oakland County, Michigan.

Contact us to arrange a free consultation with an experienced Brighton drunk driving defense attorney today. Office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Friday.

Share This